Progress 8 Explained


Are you confused by the move from A*-G grades to Progress 8?

In 2017 and 2018, the 1-9 grading system will be phased in. Those qualifications on the new system will receive a point score equivalent to the numerical grade (so a grade 5 would be awarded five points). For those on the old system, an A* will be worth eight-and-a-half points,
an A will be worth seven, a B five-and-a-half, a C four, a D three, an E two, an F one-and-a-half and a G one.

By 2019, all GCSEs will use the 1-9 grade scale and points will be equivalent to the grade awarded.

The TES have provided a more detailed explanation here:

Translate ยป
%d bloggers like this: